Luckly I didn’t go to church last week

Every Sunday morning I wait for my wife’s creativity to emerge – usually about 90 minutes before church starts. It’s really funny and I actually look forward to what she’ll come up with each week.

Last week it was “Hey, do you want to come to church because after that we can visit your mate John who broke his back a few weeks ago and he’s home now?”

No, I didn’t want to go to church and visit John afterwards. If I wanted to visit John, I’d just visit!

There’s no pressure though and it’s all very amiable. I know she’d like me to go with her and the kids. She knows I don’t really want to, but that I probably would if there was a half decent church nearby (I enjoyed Father’s Day at a mates church three hours away). The church I used to pastor is now run by someone who studiously ignored me, never mentions anything about the past and refused to come over for dinner with us when they first arrived despite us inviting them twice. Me attending there was never going to work – for him, and I guess now for me – even though when I resigned due to depression I had wanted to stay involved.

But I have changed so much in the almost three years I’ve been gone. I see things so differently – I probably wouldn’t fit in anyway.

Last week, I’m so glad I didn’t go. My wife came home and in the afternoon was reading in bed. “How was church this morning” I asked genuinely interested. She was mad. It all came tumbling out. The pastor had said God had been speaking to him this week and asked everyone who desperately needed healing to stand. Then he asked anyone desperately needing forgiveness to stand. And the third category was anyone desperately needing a breakthrough to stand. Then he pulled his swifty; he asked all those standing, to pray for all those still seated. The premise was that if you’re desperate for God, you’re in the right place. And if you’re not desperate, you’re in need of prayer – from the desperate

I would have been one of those seated ones. I would have been prayed for by the standing, along with anyone visiting, or possibly new, or maybe those who are not yet identifying as believers… All of us together would have collectively been made to feel like there was something not quite right in our lives. I would have been fuming. What a dick!

My wife is right. Everyone has a season. There are seasons where we feel desperate. There are seasons of contentment. Who is to judge what season we’re in? My favorite paradigm is one of a journey. On a journey there are times of trouble and good times, there are twists and turns and it doesn’t matter where you are on your journey as long as you keep journeying and don’t get stuck in any one place for too long. No-one can judge where you’re at, nor should they.

Today, we had our babysitter stay overnight, so the car is full. There was no creative “Hey I was wondering….” But after last week, I think all her creative juices all but dried up.

2 Responses

  1. This got me laughing – particularly about the part where your wife casually tries to find a way to encourage you to attend. šŸ™‚

    That nauseating exercise by her pastor is just another demonstration of some who enjoy social manipulation. It’s not fun, nor helpful. Quite the opposite. I don’t blame your wife for being livid.

    It’s a good thing I’m not a social psychotic person, because some of those pat little demonstrations in church would get my creative juices flowing. Fortunately, I’m sensitive enough to people’s feelings such that I won’t try and rock their boats too much.

    Otherwise, an invitation to stand and deliver on a blessing received during the week might go something like this:

    “Yes, I’d like to tell you that I think I’ve been cured by God from erectile dysfunction. In fact, last night I managed to masturbate successfully three times. One of the shots actually hit a target on a wall that I was aiming for. Praise God.”

    • Hahahah you are a rare one WS, but I like it. If I ever have the opportunity and the courage I’d like to use the erectile dysfunction miracle testimony, but will be sure to give you credit for authorship!!!

Leave a Reply

