I’m on some kind of weed – St Johns Wort

I’m assuming St Johns wort is a weed. Why would any plant have the ignominy of being called a wort if it was anything other than a weed? In our country we have a noxious weed called Ragwort and a lot of effort goes into its eradication and control.

But I heard good things about St Johns wort and it’s viability as a treatment for depression, so I thought I’d give it a go. I thought that I’d be a bit of a guinea pig for y’all and let you know my thoughts. I don’t have severe depression anymore, but I still have a few of the symptoms. I get anxiety at times, still lack motivation in certain areas and can’t handle the kids in large doses and generally have limited emotional energy so I still budget it closely.

I haven’t been on prescription medication for about 12 months now. Prior to that I was taking Paroxetine which I found extremely effective. It worked fast (not the 2-4 weeks that doctors recommend), but almost overnight. Its big downside for me was the numbness and loss of libido.

In terms of numbness, I remember visiting a client who has bipolar disorder. He had been off medication for seven months and just run out of food in his house as his disorder had taken over. He resumed his medication that day. I asked how long it would take to kick in and he said in 48 hours, everything inside would go quiet. I hadn’t heard it expressed that way, but I knew exactly what he was saying. On antidepressants it’s like everything goes still, calm and quiet on the inside – numb in other words. The downside of this is you don’t experience any good feelings either – happiness, joy, excitement – meh.

As far as libido goes, I experienced a loss of interest in sex and found that even if I notionally thought it would be a good idea, couldn’t climax when I was on the prescribed amount. It was a little embarrassing like “well dear, I’m about puffed now, and I really don’t think anything’s going to happen, so I’ll be climbing off now”. So that was a big downer. I’m fairly red blooded and still relatively young and never had that happen before. I scrounged through the fine print and yep, there it was.

So back to the wort. I’d heard good things, and it was time to have a go. I’ve been taking it for about a month. I miss a day every now and then out of forgetfulness (I think this is common – if medication is effective and we “feel” ok, we’re likely to forget we have an illness!). I think it is more gentle and mild than the prescription SSRI I was taking, but the modus operandi is similar. It does make things a little more “quiet” and “numb” but not to the same extent as the Paroxetine. I think it has a similar effect on libido, but that’s probably not such a bad thing… it stops me bugging my wife so much.

There are conflicting studies, just as there are with prescription drugs. Many studies show placebos just as effective and prescription drugs, but St Johns Wort is showing to be “as effective” as prescription and more effective than placebos at treating mild or moderate depression (not recommended for severe). All the research just brings me back to my basic philosophy that each individual has to find what works for them. Note – you can’t take prescription anti depressants in conjunction with the wort. There’s loads of info out there, but I think this article from the Black Dog Institute is a good start.

I think I’ll keep taking it for a while. I’ve never been on the weed before, but maybe this is one weed that a little experimentation with may be useful.

Yours truly, the Guinea Pig.

4 Responses

  1. I’m about to come off pristiq (one of the new brand of SSRNI medications) and the reminder that the wort is there is like an emergency shute on the main one if I freefall.

    You described the longer term affects of burnout very well; after the major depressive episode (medical term) I thought it was all over red rover but the lingering emotional fragility, exhaustion and loss of general motivation can last for up to 7 years, I have been warned. Being tired is my worst enemy. Pritiq’s side effects have been less pronounced than what you experienced on Paroxetine but I’d still rather be off it if only so I can fully experience life again, with all it’s stuff.

    • Interesting you say “I’d rather be off it if only so I can fully experience life again”, because it’s one of the main reason schizophrenia sufferers are notorious for going off their meds. They take some pretty heavy stuff that has a tranquillizing effect and you can feel like a zombie – walking dead. I used to liken antidepressants to a band-aid, but a psych I was speaking to said they prefer to call them “flotation aids” like the things kids use in when learning to swim… and I think that’s pretty apt.

  2. That should be SSNRI!

  3. […] enough to consider having a beer before going, and I didn’t take my friendly weed either (see last post). I just took everything slowly and deliberately – mindfully I think is the correct buzz word […]

Leave a Reply

