Temperaments

I mentioned in a previous post that understanding temperaments really helped me.

As I started to unravel and become weaker, I realised that I had to understand myself a bit better and focus on the things that I was wired to do and develop my team a bit better to compensate and shore up the areas I was weak in.

For those that are a bit skeptical about “boxing” people just suspend judgement for a bit. Marcus Buckingham in his “Discover your strengths” book talks about the synapses that we are born with – basically a bazillion. Then over the first few years of our life, these dissolve leaving us with comparatively a few connections. Because there seems to be no rhyme nor reason as to which dissolve, we each have strengths (neural pathways) and weaknesses as a result. We tend to be naturally good at some things, and drawn to some things as opposed to others.

Now, to temperament typing. I’ve done some very simple temperament tests, and they were helpful. But the most comprehensive that I’ve found is the Myers Briggs. I filled out the Myers briggs and my results came back as INTJ.

I don’t want to dwell too much on what those letters mean at this stage, but for me here’s how it panned out:

I’m introverted. That means I need time alone to recharge my batteries. That’s not to say I don’t love being with people, it just means it will eventually drain me. Therefore I need to schedule “alone” time or slowly I’ll run out of energy and crash and burn. Better to be proactive than always trying to catch up.

I’m intuitive. This was a biggie for me. I learned that intuitives tend to define their reality, more through imagination, vision and dreams and not so much on facts and figures and the five senses. Intuitives are really future oriented. The present is more of a means to an end. This means I didn’t have a good handle on concrete reality and needed others to give me reality checks.

I’m a thinker (as opposed to a feeler) when it comes to relationships. In other words, I tend to relate to people logically (that is according to my logic, which whilst subjective is logic nonetheless) rather than emotionally. What that means, is I’m not great at “reading” people and adjusting to their emotional state or cues. I tend to take what they’re saying on face value and focus on the content and information rather than body language and non verbals. I’m fairly analytical. That means I miss a lot. I needed “feelers” in meetings to pick up the cues when dealing with difficult situations.

Lastly it meant that I was organised and planned in my approach to time as opposed to going with the flow – or going with feelings. I preferred structure, goals, time management and objectives rather than keeping my options open and seeing how things pan out. I had to realise that there are a lot of people out there who operate on the “go with the flow” so I
needed to manage that better and not expect everyone to be like me.

In short, the INTJ is nicknamed “The Analyst, The Mastermind, The Scientist, The Free-Thinker”

In short “At work, INTJs use their conceptual strengths to analyze situations and then develop models to understand and anticipate through relentlessly to reach their goals. They will continue on with their plans, even in the face of adversity and data that might suggest to other more practical types that their goals are no longer feasible.”

That’s me. I think you can see how this stuff could really help someone build a strong life, and compensate for their weaknesses.

Leave a Reply

