Subscribe to Scrapheap Pastors via RSS

I only blog sporadically as you’ve noticed. With burnout, there’s no way I’m going to be so rigid as to commit to any kind of frequency. It would take all the fun out of it, and this is as much for my healing and reflection as yours. So, if you want to automatically receive my updates, click on this logo

click here to subscribe to RSS feed

click here to subscribe to RSS feed

and subscribe to my RSS feed in your browser, RSS aggregator or Email client and you’ll see when I’ve posted and you won’t miss one.

Also, if you know anyone that could be helped by my blog, then let them know. I don’t promote it in my networks due to my anonymity.

2 Responses

  1. As I read through The Scrapheap pastors, I felt incredibly desolate – I know how it feels, I’ve been there. I talk with people in this situation – it’s part of my work now. My biggest grief is the fact that it takes an inordinate amount of time to get back on track – years not months. This attrition must be headed off at the pass. Authenticity in the deepest areas of identity, accountability for “being” not “doing”, accountability for “being with God”, not just “doing for God”, debriefing, mentoring, supervision – however you do it, or whatever you call it, it must be done. Churches must see that it is done with all their leaders. Leaders must demand it as part of their contract. Don’t settle for less. Even if those around you don’t see the need for it, you must take responsibility for your own mental, emotional, physical and spiritual health or your ministry will suffer. If you don’t know how to do it, seek out someone who does, and can help you. This is not an optional extra. Don’t rest until you’ve put something in place to help you live life on that deeper level of authenticity. God will help you – he has a vested interest in your being able to glorify Him from your heart and life. It’s called growth or maturity.

  2. Hi Beris, thanks for your input. Since you deal with people in this situation, feel free to recommend any resources that might help people. Likewise if you feel this blog could help anyone forward on the link. cheers.

Leave a comment